Friday, January 21, 2011

1986 Deer Contest Winners

86 0122 01
January 22, 1986

The Treutlen County Sportsman's Club did a lot for the community while it was in existence. Dr. McNair was the main leader, and J. L. Curl, Jr. was secretary/treasurer most of the time. The monthly meetings were held at Brown's Barn near the 2011 location of Cowboy Carey's, until the barn was burned. After that the meetings were at the community club house, but in 1986 this one was held at the TES cafeteria. The fishing rodeo and the deer contest were the two most popular things the club sponsored. The deer contest winners, left to right: Donnie Hackle - Bambi Award, smallest deer at 65 pounds, Gary Walden won deer stand, Tommy Dykes won buck knife, Gerald Collins won the doe award of $100, and Curt Dornburg won the buck award of $100. Not present was Michael Beasley who won the Big Deer Award with 180 pound and 17 points.

Others that week: Manning Mimbs sportsman of the year, basketball, TPS kids, Conservation Awards, Leon and Johnnie Phillips, MLK poster contest at TES.

William A. Ricks 
Thanks for subscribing to  'Bill Ricks of Soperton' 
Photo files at

No comments: